Updated My Trusty Camera

It is always best to work with what you have first and truly master it. It is also a good idea to work with in your budget. I feel as if I have exhausted those good ideas with my Canon rebel. A great camera for taking photos on the fly, but not so wonderful for the low light situations I often encounter at weddings receptions and inside dark churches. So after a lot of planning and thinking I have finally updated to a Nikon D600.

I feel as if I have betrayed my beloved Canon a little bit (I love both camera companies. Honestly they are both amazing and one is not better than the other. I just prefer how the shutter button does not lag as much with the Nikon cameras. It is going to take a while to get used to the extremely different Nikon design. Even the lenses go on in a different direction. Sneaky marketing!)

compare

My Canon Rebel XSI was a valuable learning tool in learning how to shoot manually and setting the correct ISO, white balance, aperture, and shutter speed for each shot. The 8 mp and low quality ISO that only went to 1600 was really beginning to keep me from reaching my potential. I feel as if I have learned so much over the past year and my rebel just was not able to keep up with me and translate those new skills.

My Nikon D600 has 24.3 mega pixels and goes up to an ISO of 6400! I feel like I can take on the world. Plus it is full frame. The photo above illustrates the difference. Both photos were taken at an ISO of 800 at 125 and f/4.5. Both pictures are nice, but the top has digital noise from the ISO and is not as sharp and crisp. There isn’t a huge difference in the day light, but at night the D600 takes photos that my rebel cannot. I honestly feel like I cannot take a bad photo with this camera right now (I’m sure my inner critic will wear that down quick).

I am so excited to be learning more. I have been reading the manual. Only on page 99. A couple hundred to go! I wanted to share this exciting news with everyone to let you know that I am striving to always better myself and my photography. Expect a lot of changes and hopefully an insane amount of improvement! 644240_461787977221297_206456939_n

(This inspiration quote was made by and is copyrighted to http://www.girlheartscamera.com)

2 thoughts on “Updated My Trusty Camera

    • I went with a prosumer level camera because I couldn’t imagine spending so much on the body when the lenses have the biggest impact. I knew I just had to have a full frame though and I’m happy with the camera. Honestly, a little sad because I love my Canons (both my 35 mm and my digital), but I think I made a good choice. Both Nikon and Canon are great.

Leave a Reply

