Maryland Wedding Photographer – Gallery Opening

My year long senior project finally came to a close last week so I am happy to say that I will be back to doing what I love (lots of photo shoots and photography!) this week as I finish my finals (for the final time).

My gallery opening was on Monday, April 16th and what a day! I had so many wonderful and amazing volunteers who assisted me while I installed the exhibition. And on Wednesday, the 18th I had my oral defense, which was against a panel of four judges and open to the public. A lot of my wonderful fellow classmates joined me for my presentation and it lasted over an hour (all video taped for my mom at home. She said to me a few days before the defense, “I brought your video camera up from home. You don’t have to video tape your defense, but if you think you would like to that would be nice.” Now, in mom code that means: “video tape the defense or else.” The presentation filled the entire tape). I waited 20 minutes while the judges deliberated and was so surprised to discover that not only did I pass, I received a high pass!

Here is my artist Statement:

Anachronism, the BFA thesis exhibition by Courtney L. Murray, consists of nearly 2,000 photographs from the artist’s family collection from 1902-2012, some which will be viewable as stereographs.

The exhibit examines the use of vernacular photography including the changes technological advances such as roll film and digital photography has had on the family album. In the days of film, family photographs frequently consisted of milestone moments such as graduations, weddings, and portraits. Contemporary albums include everyday photographs, including snapshots from mobile phones. The exhibit illustrates the uses of personal photography, how and why we take photographs, as well as how photography is used to document biographical experience.

Similar to movie stills, the installed photographs document changes: visually piecing together the artist’s family history as well as her own insertion into the visual narrative. “Anachronism” is an archived timeline of 110 years of the artist’s family, demonstrating the art of life.

So many of my classmates and friends were kind enough to volunteer to help me. Brian, pictured here, my mom, and my friend Chris from home stayed with me until security asked us to leave at 1 in the morning! I returned at 7 am to finish the rest. Thank you mom, Chris, Brian, Tom, Lindsey, Brittany, Kari, Judith, Ashley, and Sasha for your help! Could not have done it with out you! Battle wounds. I think we all had blisters by the end of the day.The installation was completed 30 minutes before the opening at 4! Time for gallery set up for our guests.My table was all set and looking pretty. In the box below are the 3d stereographs I made for the opening. (Everyone said I had to have a 3d camera. I’m very proud of my -18 degree method to fool the 3d viewers. If you’re wondering how I did it I will be more than happy to tell you all about it!)The flowers on the right were sent by my cousins Ginger and Jessie They arrived 10 minutes before the opening! How sweet!The grapes and sparkling juice I brought in for the opening. Both my mom and my dad made it in for the opening!I put the flowers from Ginger and Jessie by my tambourines in my living room.Sunflowers! My father brought these up for me. Sunflowers are my absolute favorite (if you can’t tell).Matthew could not make it to the opening because he is living in Maryland (and I will be joining him soon!) so he had his sister Crystal bring these for me. She said to me, “He does realize that his sister is the one writing this note for him, right? I had no idea he was such a romantic!”My mother gave me this lovely notebook. I love the saying on the cover!These photos are from the day of my defense. I brought in more yummy snacks and drinks. Ashley Deyo took these photos of me after I got my high pass.Last Friday Matthew’s work was cancelled so he drove all the way up from Maryland (and arrived at 4 in the morning) to see my installation before I had to take it down.
He signed my guest book. How sweet is he?!My personalized 3d image viewer and a small shadow box I made with my grandfather’s combat V and korean war photos.He enjoyed viewing my installation. Me right before I had to take it all down. All that work and it is down already. Matthew took these photos. He was getting creative with my lens.

Leave a Reply

